I apologize for the belated post, this past week and a half hast been spent preparing for and taking tests before the break. (Two week break, y'all!) So I'll make this one a good one!
Last Monday, I spent most of the day with one of my friends since we have similar free periods. We sat in the school library and talked about our exchange years. (She just came back from a year in Austrailia). So we made plans to get together over the break to make foods from her exchange, from my home town, and other German foods we like. So that is what I'm really looking forward to right now. Not to mention, I came home to bratwurt and sauerkraut for lunch :D
Wednesday I spent a lot of time with my other friend since we had the saem free periods that day too. We went into the cafeteria at one point and really talked about family, friends, school trips to London, and all that good stuff. She was absolutely blown away when I said we don't take class trips to other states or rarely other cities.. So I also explained that a class changes every year, unlike here where you're in the same class from 5th grade until 9th.
This weekend was actually pretty chill, I must say. Friday night my host brother had his final dance performance so my host parents were out, leaving me and my host sister at home. Not to mention it had been raining all day and through the night. And you know what a cold, rainy day means. Yes, cuddle up on the couch and watch a kid's movie on VHS (Ice Age to be exact!). Also on Friday, I recieved a care package from my mom! I was soo happy, you don't even know. I had spices, poptarts, my favorite hoodie, Halloween window stickers, and so many other cool things. It made my whole weekend so much better. It's funny, my hoodie really makes me feel more at home. I can wear it and feel more confident, even though I kind of stick out in the Hubbard Lake, Michigan sweatshirt rather than an Adidas or Puma hoodie. But I've gotten to the point where I know I dress differently and I'm okay with sticking out because of it! (:
Saturday was so ungodly busy! We had the family get-together for my host brother's birthday. That includes cooking, cleaning, more cleaning, and then more cleaning. But it was fun since I always had someone there to talk to as I helped out. Once everyone got there, we had coffee and cake, Black Forest cake and apple strudel. I must say, I had a lot of traditional German food lately! Then we all sat around and played random games such as SET or Mexican Train. We ended the night by eating dinner. Rice with a curry-pineapple chicken. Soooo tasty.. I think I ate that for lunch for the next couple days!
Sunday was really laid back. I spend probably an hour and a half at the breakfast table simply talking with my host parents. They are hilarious and they love to talk. Somewhere in the multiple topics, we made plans to go to the Museumshof in Rahden. They were having an open house kind of a thing where people could go in and watch demonstrations about how the farms in that area worked hundreds of years ago (Rahden is 975 years old or there abouts, to give you an idea of old cities ;) ) We saw how pigs were normal cut up, we saw a restored barn and house. With cool beds built into the walls of the office so that one could roll out of bed right into the office! It also had an old flour grinder. You know, where you tie horses up and they walk in circles, grinding the flour. Sooo nifty!
And now finally for today, Tuesday the 15th of October. I started my day with history, we talked about the French Revolution and that was that. Afterwards, I met up with a friend group and I decided to go to spanish with them since it was their first year of spanish and I took one year already so I figured I could see what goes on in German-Spanish class. It turns out, I have free when they have lessons, so now I am also taking spanish in German. I asked my teacher if that was okay, she said yes and that I'm more than welcome to take the test tomorrow.. Even though I haven't had spanish in four years! Four languages in one week, I'm loving it! I want to learn as many languages as possible. And somehow, it helpes to learn a language in another. it solidifies both languages.. And I;ve gotten to the point in school where I can understand my teachers literally 98% of the time. I really realized this in Spanish when the teacher was talking, anf I got every joke, I understood every explaination, and even answered a grammar question in German! All of my other classes are still a little difficult since I don't know so much vocabulary. But speaking with a person casually or listening to explainations of why something works, I totally understand, crystal clear. And that is an awesome feeling to understand something in a new language just as well as I would have in my mother tounge. And if I can learn really a good chunk of languages pretty thoroughly, at least conversationally fluent, I will be satisfied. This trip has really solidified the fact that my passion is language and culture. I can't be more thankful..
So Pawpaw, I'm learning spanish again. I'm hoping we can start speaking spanish together (or at least Spenglish) once I get back! (:
ANd I got my camera working. I jut need to email myself some pictures and then I'll upload them here to this post once I finish that, so check back in a couple days and there will be pictures! I promise ;)
Until then
~Katy Rose
